Document Type

Article Restricted

Publication Date


Journal Title

Environmental Development

Volume Number


First Page




The large marine ecosystems (LMEs) and the combined exclusive maritime zone of Africa (CEMZA) have in common that they are instruments making it possible to overcome the division of the African Maritime Domain into almost 40 national maritime domains. After identifying the eight LMEs around Africa and exploring the CEMZA concept within the context of the 2050 Africa’s Integrated Maritime Strategy, the paper attempts to ascertain the extent to which the establishment of the CEMZA could contribute to the sustainable development of the African LMEs and concludes that, while this contribution would be limited, it could be significant at the monitoring and enforcement levels.